I just started praying for my husband.

I just started praying for him mostly because I just started having a husband.  But before that I was praying for my fiancé and before that, my boyfriend and before that, my future husband (even when I didn’t know who he would be).

After we got engaged, my friend (who I’ve met with consistently for the past 8 years) and I started reading The Power of a Praying Wife by Stormie Omartian together.  We haven’t finished it yet, but I’ve really enjoyed it so far.  It’s simple and a quick read (We read 3-4 chapters between each time we meet), but it’s profound and important.  I’m thankful that we don’t have any huge issues in our marriage that need to be prayed over to be resolved, but I am praying that preventative prayer will help the hubster and me work through any issues that may come up in a healthy, God-honoring way.

Another friend of mine got married last year, and after she’d been in it a couple months, I asked her what book she would most recommend as I looked forward to marriage.  (Jimmy and I weren’t even dating at the time).  This is the one she recommended.  And I see why.

Prayer matters, and it makes a difference.  This book is a great way to guide my prayers for my husband and our marriage, and I highly recommend it to any wife or anyone who wants to be a wife someday.  It’s never to early to start praying for the man with whom you’ll share your life!

Have you read this book?  What do you think of it?

Do you have any other book recommendations for married couples or those who look forward to marriage one day?

One thought on “I just started praying for my husband.”

Leave a comment